Turning Negatives into Positives

A kind gesture can reach a wound that only compassion can heal.-SteveMaraboli

It was like a breath of fresh air to sit aboard an American Airlines flight heading to California. Two seats remained vacant beside me which meant I could stretch my legs across them and enjoy my flight. I got out my Dean Koontz novel, set my earphones in place, adjusted them for optimum comfort and listening pleasure, pushed the on button and immediately classical music  transported me into the world of fantasy. Nothing like being 25,000 feet in the air, flying across blue skies, listening to melancholy music while reading a thrilling novel and yes, stretched out across three seats. Such luxury and in economy class.

I was traveling to visit friends and to get away for a few days from my busy work schedule. I arrived at Dulles International Airport promptly at 8am. My flight departure time was 10 am.  I had given myself the required two hours for checking in my luggage, going through security and still have a few minutes of extra to relax before boarding. On my arrival at the terminal, I noted an unusually great number of people were flying that day. They were probably fleeing from the hurricane expected to touch down in Maryland within the preceding three hours. Although I was not fleeing, the thought did occur to me that I was fortunate to be leaving Maryland for I am no lover of hurricanes. Having grown up in the West Indies, I know the havoc a hurricane reeks regardless of the wind velocity.

Settling in my seat I waited for take-off. Despite the crowd waiting to board, two seats were remained vacant beside me as the airplane took off. The flight could not be delayed further because of impending bad weather.

I must have dozed off because when I next opened my eyes, we were airborne. Looking out of my window I could see angry clouds scudding by below, a definite harbinger of the fierce storm to come.

Before long, there was a slight disturbance in the aisle. An obese passenger tried to make himself comfortable in his seat two rows ahead of mine. Already there was not much leg room, even for me, but since I had no intention of flying first class, I was prepared to deal with this minor inconvenience. The gentleman was too overweight and his abdominal girth too wide to allow him to fasten his seat belt. The ends of the seat belt could not connect. He struggled for a while.The stewardess seeing his struggle, offered to assist him, to no avail. Eventually they gave up. He would have to fly without the added safety of his seat belt. Next, he tried to settle into his seat, which was another feat to be accomplished. His rear end did not reach the seat cushion as it could not squeeze through the two armrests.  Raising the armrests made no difference. Regardless of how he shuffled, he could not fit into the single seat.

I felt a pang of sorrow for him as he repeatedly stood and tried sitting. For a few seconds he sat more on the armrests than in his seat. The two passengers beside him seemed embarrassed.  Finally, he stepped into the aisle. I had no alternative but to suggest he try to fit into the two vacant sets beside me. I could not imagine this dear gentleman standing all the way to Los Angeles. I stepped into the aisle to allow him to enter. Finally, he was able to get comfortable by occupying both seats, but the seat belts still did not fit since he sat on half of one, and half on the other. He sat using both armrests. I traveled with my arms pinned to my sides. At least someone was comfortable. I had done my good deed for the day.

As with all unpleasant experiences, they come to an end. We flew into Los Angeles without any further incidence.

I learned later that the flight I took was the last one to depart from Dulles international airport that day. My sympathies went out to those left behind, but I know it would have been unsafe for them to fly .The hurricane struck two hours after we departed and it was a fierce one followed by a tornado.

Leave a comment